New Comedian of the Year

New Comedian of the Year

New Comedian of the Year is the new act competition produced by Leicester Square Theatre with places for 300 acts. Started in 2009 our aim is to have a competition that's equally enjoyable for contestant & audience alike.

The competition is based at the theatre and runs throughout the Autumn season in the Lounge, culminating in the final in the Main House at the end of November.

The competition is open to any non-professional act who's been performing for 5 years or less and entries from character acts, musical acts and sketch groups are welcome. The only restriction is that all contestants must stick to 5 minutes of material or risk disqualification. 

We will open entries for 2015's competition on 1 June 2015. Keep an eye here or @newcomedian for details.


It's been a fantastic competition topped off by a wonderful final, and the winners are...

1st Joshua Ross
2nd Don Tran
3rd Evelyn Mok

Follow @lsqtheatre and @newcomedian for updates and finalists!

Past Winners..


Winner: Tim Renkow

Runner up: Garrett Millerick

Joint 3rd: Alasdair Beckett-King & Amy Gledhill


Winner: Funmbi Omotayo

Runner Up: Phil O'Shea

3rd: Sofie Hagen 


Winner: Matt Rees

Runner Up: Richard Todd

3rd: Adam Hess


Winner: Tim Shishodia

Runner Up: Mark Stephenson

3rd: Ian Smith


Winner: Rob Beckett

Runner Up: Jim Campbell

3rd: Tania Edwards & Sally Tatum