Booking line:
020 7734 2222

Old Comedian

Old Comedian of the Year

The Old Ones Are The Best!

Forget cheery optimism & skinny jeans. At last, a competition for comics who've been around long enough to know better. Expect a high standard and a hint of world weary cynicism as 100 not so new acts compete for the title of Old Comedian of the Year.

Old Comedian of the Year is a brand new competition first held in 2015, based at the Museum of Comedy in Bloomsbury. The final is held at Leicester Square Theatre in the heart of London's West End.

The competition is open to anyone over 35 who has been performing for 5 years or more, and not making a living from performing comedy. Entries from character acts, musical acts and sketch groups are welcome. The only restriction is that all contestants must stick to 5 minutes of original material or risk disqualification.

Enter the 2018 competition here


2018 Competition Dates

Heats (Museum of Comedy):

8 April: 5pm & 7.30pm

9 April: 7pm

10 Apri: 7pm

15 April: 5pm & 7.30pm

22 April: 5pm & 7.30pm

Semis (Museum of Comedy):

6 May: 5pm & 7.30pm

13 May: 5pm & 7.30pm

Final (Leicester Square Theatre)

3 June: 3pm



1st place - Nick Elleray
2nd place - Rob Thomas
3rd place - Chris McGlade


1st place - Joe Bor as Jaspar Cromwell Jones
2nd place - Magnus Turner MP
3rd place - Kelly Kingham


1st Place - Tim Shishodia
2nd Place - Toby Williams as Dr George Ryegold
3rd Place - Sam Savage as Linda Larkin